现在注册

登录

忘记密码

忘记密码? 请输入您的电子邮件地址. 您将收到一个链接,将创建通过电子邮件新密码.

添加后

你必须登录后添加 .

登录

现在注册

欢迎Scholarsark.com! 您的注册将授予您访问使用该平台的更多功能. 你可以问问题, 做出贡献或提供答案, 查看其他用户以及更多的个人资料. 现在注册!

Elon Musk的SpaceX违反了其FAA发射许可证, 促使调查.

Elon Musk的SpaceX违反了其FAA发射许可证, 促使调查.

成功发射但在12月一次失败的着陆尝试期间爆炸的SpaceX火箭的首次高空测试飞行违反了美国联邦航空管理局的许可条款, 据两名熟悉此事的人说.

着陆爆炸和违反执照都促使美国联邦航空管理局进行正式调查 (很少), 这迫使监管机构进一步审查埃隆马斯克仓促的火星火箭试验活动.

原型 Starship Serial 的 12 月测试发射 8 在博卡奇卡的SpaceX设施, 德州, 被马斯克认为是成功的: “火星, 我们来了!” 首席执行官在火箭着陆后爆炸几分钟后发了推文, 庆祝SN8成功登顶 8 英里高度与他的追随者.

美国联邦航空局, 监督地面安全并许可私人发射, 不是很开心.

那个星期开始了所谓的事故调查,不仅关注爆炸性坠落事件, 以及 SpaceX 拒绝遵守美国联邦航空管理局授权的条件 (很少), 两个人说. 目前尚不清楚试飞的哪一部分违反了美国联邦航空局的执照, 美国联邦航空局发言人拒绝在一份声明中详细说明 边缘.

“FAA 将继续与 SpaceX 合作,评估该公司提供的额外信息,作为其申请更改发射许可证的一部分,” 美国联邦航空局发言人史蒂夫库尔姆周五表示. “虽然我们认识到快速实现商业空间增长和创新的重要性, FAA 不会妥协其保护公共安全的责任. 只有在我们对 SpaceX 已采取必要措施满足监管要求感到满意后,我们才会批准修改。”

发射台上的奇观在阻止 SpaceX 的最新测试尝试中发挥了作用后,监管机构的关注度增加 “SN9” 星舰, 该公司表示将于周四发生. 闪闪发光的合金钢, 16-故事火箭装满燃料准备飞行. 但当时, 由于 SpaceX 对其许可证申请进行了几项更改,FAA 官员仍在进行测试的许可证审查程序, 消息人士说. 麝, 对过程感到沮丧, 转到推特.

“根据这些规则, 人类永远不会到达火星。”
“不像他们的航空部门, 这很好, FAA 的航天部门的监管结构存在根本性缺陷,” 他周四发推文. “他们的规则是为每年从少数政府设施进行的少数一次性发射而设计的. 根据这些规则, 人类永远无法到达火星。”

许可证违规 (和随后的许可审查过程) 加剧了SpaceX与世界上最大的运输机构之间的紧张关系. 多年, 马斯克等航天界人士感叹百年美国. 作为航天运载火箭创新和竞争的发射许可监管框架. 作为回应, 美国. 交通部, 已将其发射监督职责委托给 FAA, 去年公布了新的简化的发射许可规定. 它们尚未生效.

同时, 马斯克在推特上敦促 FAA 44 百万粉丝是这位亿万富翁对监管机构处理其快速业务感到沮丧的最新体现.

SpaceX公司, 由马斯克在 2002, 曾两次起诉空军, 一旦成功 2014 争取五角大楼发射的权利, 还有一次失败了 2018 失去了 Starship Troopers 和其他公司火箭的竞争性开发资金. 在 2018, 当证券交易委员会对他处以罚款时 $20 亿美元,因涉嫌通过 Twitter 误导特斯拉投资者, 马斯克告诉 60 分钟, “我不尊重 SEC. 我不尊重他们。”

12 月 SN8 星舰测试前几个小时, 当马斯克在博卡奇卡获得美国联邦航空局的许可时,SpaceX 最终打破了这个许可, 他在接受《华尔街日报》的虚拟采访时被问到政府应该在监管创新方面发挥什么作用. 马斯克回复, “大多数时候, 政府能做的最好的事情就是让开”.

信用:

https://www.theverge.com/2021/1/29/22256657/spacex-launch-violation-explosive-starship-faa-investigation-elon-musk

关于 莲Iyodo

发表评论

非常安全 & 以学生为中心 学习平台 2021

Register Now

Login

Lost Password

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link and will create a new password via email.

Add post

You must login to add post .

Login

Register Now

Welcome to Scholarsark.com! Your registration will grant you access to using more features of this platform. You can ask questions, make contributions or provide answers, view profiles of other users and lots more. Register now!

Elon Musk’s SpaceX violated its FAA launch license, prompting an investigation.

Elon Musk’s SpaceX violated its FAA launch license, prompting an investigation.

The first high-altitude test flight of a SpaceX rocket that successfully launched but exploded during a failed landing attempt in December violated the terms of a Federal Aviation Administration license, according to two people familiar with the incident.

Both the landing explosion and the license violation prompted a formal investigation by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), which forced regulators to further examine Elon Musk’s hasty Mars rocket test campaign.

A December test launch of the prototype Starship Serial 8 at SpaceX facilities in Boca Chica, Texas, was deemed a success by Musk: “Mars, here we come!” the CEO tweeted minutes after the rocket exploded on landing, celebrating the successful ascent of SN8 to 8 miles altitude with his followers.

The FAA, which oversees ground safety and licenses private launches, was not very happy.

A so-called accident investigation was opened that week that focused not only on the explosive drop-off, but also on SpaceX’s refusal to adhere to conditions authorized by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), the two men said. It was unclear what part of the test flight violated an FAA license, and an FAA spokesman declined to elaborate in a statement to The Verge.

“The FAA will continue to work with SpaceX to evaluate additional information provided by the company as part of its application to change its launch license,” FAA spokesman Steve Kulm said Friday. “While we recognize the importance of moving quickly toward growth and innovation in commercial space, the FAA will not compromise its responsibility to protect public safety. We will approve the modification only after we are satisfied that SpaceX has taken the necessary steps to meet regulatory requirements.”

Increased regulatory attention after the spectacle on the launch pad played a role in deterring SpaceX’s latest attempt to test “SN9” Starship, which the company says will happen Thursday. The gleaming steel alloy, 16-story rocket was loaded with fuel and ready to fly. But at the time, FAA officials were still going through the license review process for the test because of several changes SpaceX made to its license application, the source said. Musk, frustrated with the process, took to Twitter.

“ACCORDING TO THESE RULES, HUMANITY WILL NEVER GET TO MARS.”
“Unlike their aviation division, which is fine, the FAA’s space division has a fundamentally flawed regulatory structure,” he tweeted Thursday. “Their rules are designed for a handful of expendable launches a year from a few government facilities. Under these rules, humanity will never get to Mars.”

The license violation (and subsequent license review process) has heightened tensions between SpaceX and the world’s largest transportation agency. For years, Musk and others in the space industry have lamented the century-old U.S. regulatory framework for launch licensing as innovation and competition in space launch vehicles. In response, the U.S. Department of Transportation, which has delegated its launch oversight responsibilities to the FAA, last year unveiled new streamlined launch licensing regulations. They have yet to go into effect.

In the meantime, Musk’s tweet urging the FAA to his 44 million followers was the latest incarnation of the billionaire’s frustration with regulators dealing with the rapid pace of his business.

SpaceX, founded by Musk in 2002, has sued the Air Force twice, once successfully in 2014 for the right to compete for Pentagon launches, and another time unsuccessfully in 2018 for losing out on competitive development funds for Starship Troopers and other company rockets. In 2018, when the Securities and Exchange Commission fined him $20 million for allegedly misleading Tesla investors via Twitter, Musk told 60 Minutes, “I have no respect for the SEC. I don’t respect them.”

Hours before the SN8 starship test in December, when Musk was in Boca Chica getting approval for the FAA license that SpaceX eventually broke, he was asked in a virtual interview with The Wall Street Journal what role the government should play in regulating innovation. Musk replied, “Most of the time, the best thing the government can do is just get out of the way”.

Credit:

https://www.theverge.com/2021/1/29/22256657/spacex-launch-violation-explosive-starship-faa-investigation-elon-musk

Leave a reply

Brilliantly Safe & Student-Centered Learning Platform 2021