كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي?

سؤال

كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي. ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (الرامات "الذاكرة العشوائية في الهواتف والحواسيب) كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي. كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي.

كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي – كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي. كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي, كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي.

كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (درهم). كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي.

كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي, كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي, كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي.

كيف تعمل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي. إنه جهاز تخزين بيانات سريع الوصول يمكن استخدامه كمنطقة تخزين مؤقتة للبيانات.

إنه جهاز تخزين بيانات سريع الوصول يمكن استخدامه كمنطقة تخزين مؤقتة للبيانات. إنه جهاز تخزين بيانات سريع الوصول يمكن استخدامه كمنطقة تخزين مؤقتة للبيانات.

ما هي ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (الرامات "الذاكرة العشوائية في الهواتف والحواسيب)?

إنه جهاز تخزين بيانات سريع الوصول يمكن استخدامه كمنطقة تخزين مؤقتة للبيانات. إنه جهاز تخزين بيانات سريع الوصول يمكن استخدامه كمنطقة تخزين مؤقتة للبيانات.

إنه جهاز تخزين بيانات سريع الوصول يمكن استخدامه كمنطقة تخزين مؤقتة للبيانات. إنه جهاز تخزين بيانات سريع الوصول يمكن استخدامه كمنطقة تخزين مؤقتة للبيانات, أجهزة لوحية, إنه جهاز تخزين بيانات سريع الوصول يمكن استخدامه كمنطقة تخزين مؤقتة للبيانات, إنه جهاز تخزين بيانات سريع الوصول يمكن استخدامه كمنطقة تخزين مؤقتة للبيانات.

إنه جهاز تخزين بيانات سريع الوصول يمكن استخدامه كمنطقة تخزين مؤقتة للبيانات. المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك, المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك.

المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك.

المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك, المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك. المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك.

المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك?

المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك. المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك, المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك.

المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك, المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك. المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك, المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك.

المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لديك. ومن المعروف أيضا باسم “ومن المعروف أيضا باسم” من جهاز كمبيوتر.

ومن المعروف أيضا باسم, ومن المعروف أيضا باسم.

ومن المعروف أيضا باسم.

ومن المعروف أيضا باسم, ومن المعروف أيضا باسم.

ومن المعروف أيضا باسم.

ومن المعروف أيضا باسم – ومن المعروف أيضا باسم. ومن المعروف أيضا باسم.

الوقت الحاضر, وصل أداء ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي إلى نقطة يكون فيها أفضل من أنواع أجهزة التخزين الأخرى. هناك 3 وصل أداء ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي إلى نقطة يكون فيها أفضل من أنواع أجهزة التخزين الأخرى: متطايره (درهم), غير متطاير (وصل أداء ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي إلى نقطة يكون فيها أفضل من أنواع أجهزة التخزين الأخرى) وصل أداء ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي إلى نقطة يكون فيها أفضل من أنواع أجهزة التخزين الأخرى (عار).

وصل أداء ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي إلى نقطة يكون فيها أفضل من أنواع أجهزة التخزين الأخرى

وصل أداء ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي إلى نقطة يكون فيها أفضل من أنواع أجهزة التخزين الأخرى. وصل أداء ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي إلى نقطة يكون فيها أفضل من أنواع أجهزة التخزين الأخرى 1966.

وصل أداء ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي إلى نقطة يكون فيها أفضل من أنواع أجهزة التخزين الأخرى – وصل أداء ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي إلى نقطة يكون فيها أفضل من أنواع أجهزة التخزين الأخرى.

وصل أداء ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي إلى نقطة يكون فيها أفضل من أنواع أجهزة التخزين الأخرى. بشكل عام, وصل أداء ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي إلى نقطة يكون فيها أفضل من أنواع أجهزة التخزين الأخرى.

تُستخدم أجهزة ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) بطرق مختلفة للمساعدة في أداء الكمبيوتر. تُستخدم أجهزة ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) بطرق مختلفة للمساعدة في أداء الكمبيوتر.

أنواع ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي:

– عار: تُستخدم أجهزة ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) بطرق مختلفة للمساعدة في أداء الكمبيوتر.

– درهم: تُستخدم أجهزة ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) بطرق مختلفة للمساعدة في أداء الكمبيوتر.

– تُستخدم أجهزة ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) بطرق مختلفة للمساعدة في أداء الكمبيوتر: تُستخدم أجهزة ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) بطرق مختلفة للمساعدة في أداء الكمبيوتر.

تُستخدم أجهزة ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) بطرق مختلفة للمساعدة في أداء الكمبيوتر. تُستخدم أجهزة ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) بطرق مختلفة للمساعدة في أداء الكمبيوتر, تُستخدم أجهزة ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) بطرق مختلفة للمساعدة في أداء الكمبيوتر, تُستخدم أجهزة ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) بطرق مختلفة للمساعدة في أداء الكمبيوتر.

تُستخدم أجهزة ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) بطرق مختلفة للمساعدة في أداء الكمبيوتر.

إجابة ( 1 )

  1. ‫‫هذه الإجابة تم تعديلها.

    ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي, أو RAM (ضوحا كما رام), هو الجهاز الفعلي داخل جهاز الكمبيوتر الذي يقوم بتخزين البيانات بشكل مؤقت, العامل بوصفه الكمبيوتر “عامل” ذاكرة.

    RAM إضافية يسمح جهاز كمبيوتر للعمل مع مزيد من المعلومات في نفس الوقت, التي عادة ما يكون لها تأثير كبير على الأداء الكلي النظام.

    ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي, أو RAM, هي واحدة من أهم مكونات ليس فقط أجهزة الكمبيوتر المكتبية, ولكن أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة, أجهزة لوحية, الهواتف الذكية, ولعب لوحات المفاتيح. بدونه, أن تفعل أي شيء على أي نظام يكون كبيرا, أبطأ بكثير. حتى عدم وجود ما يكفي لتطبيق أو لعبة كنت تحاول تشغيل يمكن أن يجلب الأشياء إلى الزحف, أو تجعل من ذلك أنهم لا يستطيعون حتى تشغيل على الإطلاق.

    شيء صغير, انها نوع سريع للغاية من ذاكرة الكمبيوتر الذي يقوم بتخزين مؤقتا كافة المعلومات التي يحتاج جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك في الوقت الحالي وفي المستقبل القريب. فمن حيث الأحمال الكمبيوتر الخاص بك كل الأشياء التي تعتقد أنها سوف تحتاج إلى معرفة قريبا, بحيث عندما تفعل ذلك, فإنه يمكن قراءتها بسرعة فائقة. لكن الأمر يختلف تماما من تخزين النظام الخاص بك, مثل القرص الصلب, حيث يتم تخزين المعلومات على المدى الطويل.

    ذاكرة قصيرة المدي

    ولعل أفضل قياسا على ما هو RAM, هو التفكير في الأمر على النحو مثل الذاكرة على المدى القصير النظام الخاص بك. انها سريعة في تعلم أشياء جديدة، ويمكن تحميل في كافة المعلومات حول متصفح الويب الخاص بك, أداة تحرير الصور الذي تستخدمه, أو اللعبة كنت تلعب بحيث يمكنك الوصول إليه بسرعة. كنت لا تريد أن يكون لحفر من خلال أبطأ التخزين الخاصة بك, مثل القرص الصلب أو حتى محرك أقراص الحالة الصلبة (SSD) في كل مرة كنت تريد فتح علامة تبويب جديدة, أو تحميل عدو جديد لاطلاق النار. بأسرع ما تتم مقارنة لتخزين السنوات الماضية, انهم ما زالوا أبطأ بكثير من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي.

    البيانات التي هو في الذاكرة على المدى القصير, أو RAM, يمكن قراءتها من أي مكان تقريبا في نفس السرعة ولأنه يحتوي على اتصال سلكي الثابت على النظام الخاص بك, ليس هناك الكمون الحقيقي في الكابلات أو اتصال.

    مثل الذاكرة على المدى القصير, على أية حال, ليست مصممة RAM إلى الاستمرار في التركيز إلى الأبد، وعلى استعداد للانتقال إلى المهمة التالية في أي لحظة. وهذا ما يوصف في مجال الحوسبة بأنها "متقلبة," هذا هو, بمجرد أن يفقد السلطة, فإنه ينسى كل شيء وعلم أنه. ويجعلها مثالية للتعامل مع العديد من المهام عالية السرعة التي يلقي النظام في ذلك على أساس يومي, لكنه أيضا لماذا نحن بحاجة أنظمة التخزين مثل الأقراص الصلبة ومحركات الأقراص الصلبة, عقد معلوماتنا الواقع عند تشغيل النظام الخاص بك قبالة.

    أنواع مختلفة من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي

    RAM قليلا من فترة التقاط كل, مثل "ذاكرة,"ويغطي بالفعل عدد قليل من أنواع مختلفة. أكثر من مرة عندما كان الناس يبحثون RAM أو الذاكرة, ما نتحدث في الواقع عن الناحية الفنية DRAM (ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي الديناميكية), أو بشكل أدق عن النظم الحديثة, SDRAM (ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي الديناميكي المتزامن). المصطلحات لا يهم حقا ما وراء الشكليات, ولكن من المفيد أن نعرف أن شروط قابلة للتبادل نسبيا بالعامية.

    الأنواع الأكثر شيوعا من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي التي تباع اليوم هي DDR4, على الرغم من النظم القديمة قد تستخدم DDR2 أو DDR3. تلك ببساطة دلالة على جيل من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي تستخدم في ذلك نظام معين, مع كل واحد على التوالي التي تقدم سرعات أعلى من خلال زيادة عرض النطاق الترددي - وهو ميغاهرتز العالي (ميغاهيرتز) تقييم. رأى كل جيل أيضا التغيرات الجسدية, لذلك ليس للتبادل.

    آخر مصطلح شائع, خاصة في الفضاء لعبة الفيديو VRAM, أو RAM الفيديو. على الرغم من مرة واحدة في التكنولوجيا في حد ذاتها, VRAM اليوم المستخدمة (من الناحية الفنية عن طريق الخطأ) للدلالة على الذاكرة المتاحة لرقاقة الرسومات أو بنيت على لبطاقة الرسومات. وهذا يسمى في الواقع الرسومات DDR SDRAM, أو أكثر شيوعا GDDR. ومعظم بطاقات الرسومات الحديثة استخدام GDDR5, على الرغم من بعض استخدام معيار GDDR5X أحدث والأجيال القادمة قد تأتي حتى مع الذاكرة GDDR6.

    بعض بطاقات الرسومات المتخصصة تستخدم شكلا فريدا من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي يسمى النطاق الترددي العالي والذاكرة (HBM وHBM2) التي لديها بعض المزايا الفريدة الأداء, على الرغم من أنها مكلفة عادة ووقضايا العرض يعني أنه لم ير اعتماد واسع النطاق.

    SIZE ليس كل شيء

    أكبر الاعتبار عند شراء RAM هو حجم ذلك. كنت في حاجة الى الحد الأدنى من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لتشغيل نظام سطح المكتب أو الكمبيوتر المحمول التشغيل والعديد من الألعاب والتطبيقات لديها الحد الأدنى من كمية جدا. وترد هذه المتطلبات في غيغا بايت, أو GB وغالبا ما تكون بين 1GB و 8GB, اعتمادا على كيفية المطالبة بتطبيق هو. وجود أكثر من الحد الأدنى من المهم, كما كنت من غير المحتمل أن يكون مجرد تشغيل تطبيق واحد في وقت واحد, ولكن وجود كميات هائلة لا يجعل بالضرورة نظامك أسرع.

    كما أنه ليس الجانب الوحيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي الذي هو مهم. في حين أن أكثر غيغابايت من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي يمكن أن يساعد مع تعدد المهام, يمكنك ان ترى المزيد من التحسن في سرعة النظام الخاص بك, بعض الألعاب والتطبيقات من خلال استخدام الذاكرة أسرع. ذاكرة, مثل وحدات المعالجة المركزية, لديه سرعة الساعة الخاصة بها, التي تسيطر على نحو فعال كمية البيانات التي يمكن التعامل معها في الثانية عندما جنبا إلى جنب مع عدد قليل من العوامل الأخرى. وناقش السرعة الإجمالية للذاكرة كما عرض النطاق الترددي, في ميغا بايت في الثانية, ولكن عادة يتم تسويق الذاكرة مع سرعة ميغاهيرتز.

    تدير ذاكرة DDR4 نموذجية حول 2،133MHz, ولكن هناك بعض التي يمكن تشغيلها تصل إلى أكثر من 4،000MHz لأسرع مجموعات المتاحة. هل ترى هذه تسويقه باعتباره DDR4-2133, وأحيانا مع تسمية PC مربكة تطبق أيضا. الرقم الذي يلي ذلك هو مجرد الضرب ثماني مرات من سرعة ميغاهيرتز. قد نرى ذلك على النحو الوارد DDR4-2133 PC4-17000, فمثلا.

    التوقيت هي جانب آخر من الذاكرة التي يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير على أداء RAM, على الرغم من أنها ليست مهمة بقدر ما كان ليكون. انها فعالة الوقت بين الدورات على مدار الساعة, ومع تزايد سرعة الذاكرة, توقيت, أو الكمون من ذاكرة زادت (حصلت أبطأ) جدا. عادة انها على النحو الوارد عدة أرقام مفصولة شرطات, مثل 15-15-15-35, أو مشابه. عندما يتعلق الأمر ذاكرة شراء, توقيت ليست سوى المهم حقا إذا كنت تفكر في الذاكرة عالية الأداء لقياس أو من الدرجة الاولى الألعاب وليست مصدر قلق حقيقي للمستهلك العادي.

    أخيرا, من المهم أن تعرف عن القنوات. معظم الذاكرة التي تباع اليوم هي في أقل مزدوجة القناة, ويسمح اثنين من العصي RAM من نفس النوع والسرعة بالعمل بشكل أسرع عن طريق توفير فرص أفضل للوصول إلى وحدة تحكم الذاكرة وحدة المعالجة المركزية. ومع ذلك, الراقية مجموعات RAM تباع مع ثلاثة أو أربع وحدات قد تدعم الذاكرة ثلاثية أو حتى رباعية القنوات.

    في الأغراض العملية, أنها لا تحدث فرقا كبيرا في الأداء اليومي, ولكن إذا كنت ترغب في الاستفادة من الذاكرة مزدوجة القناة أو أكثر, تحتاج فقط للتأكد من تثبيت كل شيء في فتحات الملونة الصحيح على اللوحة الأم.

    ما مدى أهمية RAM?

    RAM المهم جدا في هذا سطح المكتب الخاص بك يحتاج إليه لتشغيل وأقراص أو الهواتف الذكية من دون الكثير من ذلك تميل لتشغيل ببطء جدا في الواقع. ومع ذلك, وجود طن منه أو أعلى تصنيف ميغاهيرتز يعني النظام الخاص بك بسرعة فائقة? ليس بالضرورة.

    وجود المسائل RAM كافية، وبعد RAM التي لم يتم المساومة الطابق السفلي بطيئة فكرة جيدة, خاصة إذا كنت تنوي القيام صورة معقدة أو مهام التحرير فيديو, أو لعب الألعاب التي تميل إلى أن تكون وحدة المعالجة المركزية محدودة. ومع ذلك, عندما يتعلق الأمر بتحسين أداء النظام الخاص بك العام, من المهم أن يصل وزنه التكاليف المترتبة على ذلك. وحدة المعالجة المركزية أو بطاقة الرسومات أسرع هو دائما تقريبا سوف يكون لها تأثير أكبر على سرعة الشاملة أنظمة الخاص بك من الذاكرة أسرع.

    الترقية من القرص الصلب إلى SSD هو أيضا خطوة كبيرة إذا لم تتخذ حتى الآن, كما أن يسرع إلى حد بعيد أبطأ التخزين على النظام الخاص بك بفارق كبير ويساهم بشكل كبير في جعلها تشعر أكثر لاذع.

    كما هو الحال مع أي جهاز الحوسبة, كنت عادة تقتصر على الأكثر حسب العنصر أبطأ بك, من الذاكرة بطيئة يمكن أن يعيقك لو كان أسوأ جزء من التكوين الخاص بك. إلا إذا كنت تفعل أي شيء مكثفة خاصة على الرغم من, فقط تأكد من وجود ما يزيد قليلا على ما تحتاج إليه، وأنه ليست أسوأ متاح, ثم عليك ربما يكون على ما يرام. إذا كنت تريد شيئا أكثر قوة هناك مجموعة واسعة من التشكيلات السرعة, حجم والكمون لتختار من. بعض الإضاءة حتى وRGB LED أيضا.

‫أضف إجابة

How Does RAM Work?

Question

Memory is a crucial part of the computer that stores and retrieves information. Random Access Memory (RAM) is the main type of memory used in computers. It is also called as volatile memory because it loses its data when the power to the computer is switched off.

RAM has two main types – dynamic RAM and static RAM. Dynamic RAM uses a small amount of electricity to store data, whereas static RAM uses more electricity but stores data for longer periods of time.

RAM is also known as dynamic random access memory (DRAM). This type of memory can be used for temporary storage for instructions and data.

The most common DRAMs are DDR3, DDR4, and LPDDR3.

Random Access Memory is an important component of computer systems. It is a fast-access data storage device that can be used as a temporary holding area for data.

RAM is typically used as a short-term memory for computers by storing the most recently accessed information in RAM. This makes it easier to process multiple tasks at once and allows the machine to run faster.

What is Random Access Memory (RAM)?

Random Access Memory is a type of computer memory that allows data to be accessed in any order. It is the most commonly used type of memory because it can hold large amounts of data in small spaces.

RAM has been used for decades and it’s still one of the most important components in a computer. It’s also found in many other devices like smartphones, tablets, laptops, and digital cameras.

RAM is also used as a temporary storage for applications and operating systems. The more RAM you have, the faster your computer will run.

Random access memory is a system is based on the principle of random access and it has a higher speed than other types of memory.

RAM is used for temporary data storage, so it is faster than hard drives or SSDs. It also has lower power consumption and better performance compared to other types of memory.

How is RAM Key to Your Computer’s Performance?

RAM is an important part of your computer. It does not have a storage capacity, but it does have a speed.

RAM is used by all types of devices including mobile phones, tablets and computers. The more RAM you have, the faster your device will be able to perform tasks that require a lot of processing power.

RAM is a data storage device which is used to store data temporarily. It is also known as the “working memory” of a computer.

RAM was originally used to store only one program at a time, but now it can be used to store multiple programs and processes simultaneously.

RAM allows the computer to access information faster than other types of storage devices such as hard drives and flash drives.

RAM acts as a temporary memory for the CPU, where it stores the data it needs to run its operations.

RAM is crucial to the performance of your computer because it enables your system to run as quickly as possible with the least amount of power consumption.

This memory is so important that it cannot be replaced by any kind of technology – not even SSDs. You can expand this RAM capacity in order to enhance your performance.

Nowadays, the performance of RAM has reached a point where it is better than other types of storage devices. There are 3 main types of RAM: volatile (DRAM), non-volatile (NVRAM) and persistent memory (SRAM).

Types of RAM in Computers and its Uses

RAM is a type of computer memory that stores and retrieves data quickly by using random access. RAM has been evolving since its first introduction in 1966.

RAM uses can be broadly grouped into two categories – a computer processor needs to know where the data is physically stored and a computer needs to have enough physical memory to store it.

The former is known as volatile RAM and the latter is known as non-volatile RAM. In general, the use cases of the latter are more important in today’s era of smart devices where cloud services are used extensively.

RAM devices are used in different ways to help in the performance of a computer. Different types of RAM devices have different purposes.

Types of RAM:

– SRAM: Static Random Access Memory.

– DRAM: Dynamic Random Access Memory.

– RDRAM: Reusable Dynamic Random Access Memory.

RAM is the most popular type of memory in PCs today. There are different types of RAM memory system, including DDR, RDRAM and SDRAM.

The very first RAM was on a mainframe computer which was used to store instructions and data in advance but it did not exist yet on personal computers.

in progress 0
arkadmin 4 years 1 Answer 7632 views 0

Answer ( 1 )

  1. This answer is edited.

    Random Access Memory, or RAM (pronounced as ramm), is the physical hardware inside a computer that temporarily stores data, serving as the computer’s “working” memory.

    Additional RAM allows a computer to work with more information at the same time, which usually has a dramatic effect on total system performance.

    Random access memory, or RAM, is one of the most important components of not only desktop PCs, but laptops, tablets, smartphones, and gaming consoles. Without it, doing just about anything on any system would be much, much slower. Even not having enough for the application or game you’re trying to run can bring things to a crawl, or make it so they can’t even run at all.

    In a nutshell, it’s an extremely fast type of computer memory which temporarily stores all of the information your PC needs right now and in the near future. It’s where your computer loads up all of the things it thinks it’ll need to find out soon, so that when it does, it can read it super fast. It’s quite different from your system’s storage, like its hard drive, where information is stored long term.

    SHORT-TERM MEMORY

    Perhaps the best analogy for what RAM is, is to think of it as like your system’s short-term memory. It’s quick at learning new things and can load in all of the information about your web browser, the image editing tool you’re using, or the game you’re playing so that you can access it quickly. You don’t want to have to dig through your slower storage, like a hard drive or even a solid state drive (SSD) every time you want to open a new tab, or load a new enemy to shoot. As fast as they are compared to storage of years gone by, they’re still far slower than RAM.

    Data that’s in the short term memory, or RAM, can be read from anywhere at almost the same speed and because it has a hard-wired connection to your system, there’s no real latency in cabling or connection.

    Like short-term memory, though, RAM is not designed to stay focused forever and is ready to move on to the next task at a moment’s notice. It’s what is described in computing as “volatile,” that is, once it loses power, it forgets everything it’s learned. The makes it perfect for handling the multitude of high-speed tasks that your system throws at it on a daily basis, but it’s also why we need storage systems like hard drives and SSDs, to actually hold our information when you turn your system off.

    DIFFERENT TYPES OF RAM

    RAM is a bit of a catch-all term, like “memory,” and actually covers a few different types. Most of the time when people are discussing RAM or memory, what they’re actually talking about is technically DRAM (dynamic random access memory), or more accurately for modern systems, SDRAM (synchronous dynamic random access memory). The terminology doesn’t really matter beyond technicalities, but it’s useful to know that the terms are relatively interchangeable colloquially.

    The most common types of RAM that are sold today is DDR4, though older systems may use DDR2 or DDR3. Those simply denote the generation of RAM used in that particular system, with each successive one offering faster speeds through greater bandwidth — a higher megahertz (MHz) rating. Each generation also saw physical changes, so are not interchangeable.

    Another common term, especially in the video game space is VRAM, or video RAM. Although once a technology in its own right, VRAM is today used (technically erroneously) to denote the memory available to a graphics chip or built on to a graphics card. That’s actually called Graphics DDR SDRAM, or more commonly GDDR. Most modern graphics cards will use GDDR5, though some use a newer GDDR5X standard and upcoming generations may even come with GDDR6 memory.

    Some niche graphics cards utilize a unique form of RAM called High-Bandwidth-Memory (HBM and HBM2) which has some unique performance advantages, though it is typically expensive and supply issues have meant it hasn’t seen widespread adoption.

    SIZE ISN’T EVERYTHING

    The biggest consideration when buying RAM is the size of it. You need a minimum amount of RAM to run a desktop or laptop operating system and many games and applications have a minimum amount too. Those requirements are listed in the gigabytes, or GB and are often between 1GB and 8GB, depending on how demanding the application is. Having more than the minimum is important, as you’re unlikely to just be running one application at a time, but having massive amounts doesn’t necessarily make your system faster.

    It’s also not the only aspect of RAM that’s important. While more gigabytes of RAM can help with multitasking, you can see more improvement in the speed of your system, certain games and applications through using faster memory. Memory, like CPUs, has its own clock speed, which effectively controls how much data it can handle per second when combined with a few other factors. The total speed of the memory is discussed as bandwidth, in megabytes per second, but traditionally memory is marketed with a MHz speed.

    Typical DDR4 memory runs around 2,133MHz, but there are some that can run upwards of 4,000MHz for the fastest kits available. You would see these marketed as DDR4-2133, and sometimes with the confusing PC label applied too. The number that follows that is simply an eight times multiplication of the MHz speed. You might see it listed as DDR4-2133 PC4-17000, for example.

    Timings are another aspect of memory that can have an impact on RAM performance, though they aren’t as important as they used to be. It’s effectively the time between clock cycles, and as memory speed has increased, timings, or the latency of the memory have increased (gotten slower) too. Typically it’s listed as several numbers separated by dashes, such as 15-15-15-35, or similar. When it comes to buying memory, timings are only really important if you’re considering high-performance memory for benchmarking or top-tier gaming and aren’t of real concern to the average consumer.

    Lastly, it’s important to know about channels. Most memory sold today is at least dual-channel, and it allows two sticks of RAM of the same type and speed to operate faster by providing better access to the CPU’s memory controller. However, high-end RAM kits sold with three or four modules may support triple or even quad-channel memory.

    In practical purposes, it doesn’t make a huge difference to everyday performance, but if you want to take advantage of dual or more channel memory, you just need to make sure to install it all in the right colored slots on your motherboard.

    HOW IMPORTANT IS RAM?

    RAM is very important in that your desktop needs it to run and tablets or smartphones without much of it tend to run very slowly indeed. However, will having tonnes of it or the highest MHz rating mean your system is super fast? Not necessarily.

    Having enough RAM matters and having RAM that isn’t bargain basement slow is a good idea, especially if you plan on doing complicated image or video editing tasks, or playing games that tend to be CPU limited. However, when it comes to improving your system’s overall performance, it’s important to weigh up the costs involved. A faster CPU or graphics card is almost always going to have a bigger impact on your systems’ overall speed than faster memory.

    Upgrading from a hard drive to an SSD is also a big step if you haven’t taken it yet, as that speeds up by far the slowest storage on your system by a huge margin and contributes massively to making it feel more snappy.

    As with any computing device, you are usually limited the most by your slowest component, so slow memory can hold you back if it’s the worst part of your configuration. Unless you’re doing anything particularly intensive though, just make sure you have a little more than what you need and that it’s not the worst available, then you’ll probably be fine. If you want something more powerful there are a wide array of configurations of speed, size and latency for you to choose from. Some even have RGB LED lighting too.

Leave an answer

Brilliantly Safe & Student-Centered Learning Platform 2021