您需要知道的主要科莫多巨蜥事实是什么?

世界上最大的活蜥蜴是科莫多巨蜥. 在西方科学家在科莫多岛上发现爬行动物后,他几乎濒临灭绝, 印度尼西亚, 在 1912, 该物种目前受印度尼西亚法律保护。这篇文章提供了一些重要的科莫多龙事实的见解

科莫多巨蜥是巨蜥科的巨蜥,因此有时也被称为科莫多巨蜥. 科莫多龙的学名是 巨蜥.

以下是一些重要的科莫多龙事实

科莫多巨蜥 (巨蜥) 是在岛上发现的蜥蜴物种 (特别是科莫多岛) 在印度尼西亚中部.

科莫多巨蜥是巨蜥科的一员,是现存最大的蜥蜴物种. 因为它们的大小,而且因为没有其他食肉动物, 这些顶级掠食者主宰着它们生活的生态系统.

科莫多巨蜥

描述

科莫多龙的平均长度为 2 - 3 米 (6.5 - 10 脚) 并称重 70 公斤 (154 英镑). 圈养科莫多巨蜥通常可能更重, 尽可能 166 公斤 (365 英镑).

科莫多巨蜥是地球上最重的蜥蜴. 他们长, 圆头扁头, 鳞状皮, 弯曲的腿和巨大的, 肌肉发达的尾巴.

典型的科莫多巨蜥

他们有关于 60 经常更换的锯齿齿,可以测量到 2.5 公分 (1 英寸) 长.

他们的唾液经常充满血液, 因为他们的牙齿几乎被牙龈组织完全覆盖,而牙龈组织在进食过程中自然裂开了.

他们也很长, 黄色, 浓密的舌头.

他们的舌头像许多其他爬行动物一样被用来检测味道和气味,并且他们可以从 4 - 9.5 公里 (2.5 - 6 英里) 远.

科莫多巨蜥虽然没有敏锐的听觉,但耳朵清晰可见. 他们能够看到最远的地方 300 米 (985 脚), 然而, 他们的夜视能力很差. 科莫多龙也能看到颜色.

科莫多巨蜥的鼻孔不是很好闻,它的喉咙后部只有几个味蕾. 他们的秤, 其中一些是用骨头加固的, 有与神经相连的感觉斑块,促进他们的触觉. 耳朵周围的鳞片, 嘴唇, 下巴和脚底可能有三个或更多的感觉斑块.

气势磅礴的科莫多巨龙长达 10 脚 (3 米) 并重约 300 英镑 (135 公斤). 女性通常比男性小.

科莫多龙有强壮的身体和厚实的, 肌肉发达的腿,脚末端是锋利的爪子. 头是平的, 长鼻子是圆的. 大而灵活的下巴和肌肉发达的喉咙可以扩张以容纳这些动物吞下的大块肉.

强大的下颚配备了大约 60 锋利的, 经常更换的锯齿状牙齿.

科莫多龙被认为可能影响了一些古老的喷火龙神话,因为它们的黄色分叉舌头和恶臭的口气, 这是由细菌感染的唾液引起的.

覆盖动物身体的鳞片通常是暗淡的, 颜色为深灰色,中间被颜色稍亮的皮肤隔开. 长尾巴等于他们身体的长度. 尾巴的力量足以击倒大型哺乳动物, 比如水牛, 轻轻一扫.

栖息地

科莫多巨蜥喜欢炎热干燥的地方,通常生活在干燥开阔的草原上, 稀树草原, 低海拔的灌木丛和热带森林. 科莫多龙挖洞,可以测量从 1 - 3 米 (3 - 10 脚) 广泛使用他们强大的前肢和爪子.

科莫多龙的分布非常小,只栖息在印度尼西亚的特定岛屿. 它们分布在一些小巽他群岛, 包括科莫多, 林卡, 吉利达萨米, 吉利蒙当, 和弗洛雷斯. 科莫多巨蜥在岛屿的所有区域漫游,但更喜欢草地稀树草原. 他们居住在森林地区,并可能沿其周边巡逻. 岛上气候温暖干燥,水很少, 除了每年短暂的季风季节.

行为

科莫多龙是四足动物, 意思是他们用四条腿站立和行走. 虽然这些动物很大很重, 他们是非常敏捷的登山者,可以以惊人的速度奔跑. 他们也是有能力的游泳者,有时会在岛屿之间长距离游泳. 科莫多龙天生孤独.

科莫多龙的行为

科莫多巨蜥是肉食性掠食者. 他们通常捕猎活的猎物, 他们通过甩出长长的, 分叉的舌头,适合检测空气中的气味. 一旦科莫多巨蜥发现他们的受害者, 他们从大草原的高草后面突然袭击他们, 用锋利的牙齿咬住猎物的肉. 即使科莫多巨蜥未能立即杀死, 它们的毒咬会释放毒素,阻止血液凝结. 人们认为他们的受害者因迅速失血而震惊. 一些科学家指出,被叮咬造成的身体创伤以及细菌从科莫多巨蜥的嘴巴到伤口的引入,在减缓和杀死猎物方面也发挥了作用。. 科莫多巨蜥可能跟随受害者数日, 等待他们崩溃. 一旦发生这种情况,它们就会落在尸体上并将其撕碎, 消耗一切——包括骨头。猎物包括大型哺乳动物,如鹿, 水牛, 野猪, 小狗, 和山羊. 较小的猎物包括老鼠, 鸟类, 其他类型的爬行动物, 甚至其他科莫多龙. 他们也可能会清除死去的动物. 凭借它们强大的嗅觉, 科莫多龙可以从超过 2 英里 (3.2 公里) 远. 众所周知,这些掠食者偶尔也会袭击和吃掉人类.

科莫多巨蜥白天大多活跃,但也表现出一些夜间行为. 它们是孤独的动物,只聚在一起繁殖和进食. 它们是相当快的生物,可以在短暂的冲刺中快速移动 20 每小时公里 (12.4 英里每小时). 年轻的科莫多龙可以使用它们强壮的爪子轻松爬树.

由于它们的体型很大, 科莫多龙能够通过睡在洞穴中来保存体温,从而减少它们在早晨晒太阳的需要. 他们通常在下午打猎,并在一天中最热的时候呆在阴凉的地方.

虽然不是严格有毒, 科莫多龙的咬伤不仅对科莫多能够造成的物理伤害很危险, 它还含有大量危险细菌. 如果受害者有幸逃脱被吃掉, 因为细菌, 很可能最终会死去. 科莫多巨蜥会跟随逃跑者直到发生这种情况 (通常在一周内), 然后消费它.

馈送

科莫多龙是食肉动物,主要以腐肉为食 (动物尸体). 他们还猎杀和伏击无脊椎动物等猎物, 哺乳动物和鸟类. 捕捉遥不可及的猎物, 科莫多龙能够用后腿站立并用尾巴作为支撑. 众所周知,它们会用尾巴击倒大型鹿和猪.

科莫多龙通过撕裂大块肉并将它们整个吞下,同时用前腿按住尸体来进食. 因为新陈代谢慢, 大龙可以生存 12 一年吃饭. 因为科莫多龙没有横膈膜, 喝水时不能吸水, 也不能用舌头舔水. 代替, 它喝了一口水, 抬起头, 让水从喉咙里流下来. 科莫多巨蜥可以吃掉一大堆 80 单次喂食占其体重的百分比.

繁殖/生命周期

科莫多巨蜥繁殖季节发生在五月至八月之间. 周围 20 9 月产卵,产卵在废弃的巨型巢穴中 (Megapode – 矮胖, 小头大脚的中大型鸡状鸟). 鸡蛋被孵化为 7 - 8 个月, 次年4月,昆虫丰富时孵化. 幼龙为了安全而住在树上,因为它们很容易受到掠食者和同类相食的成年龙的攻击.

科莫多龙在大约成熟 3 - 5 年份. 科莫多龙能够孤雌生殖 (同种异类), 未受精卵发育成新个体的繁殖形式, 常见于昆虫和某些其他节肢动物. 年轻的科莫多斯会吃昆虫, 蛋, 壁虎和小型哺乳动物. 科莫多巨蜥可能是一夫一妻制,并结成对, 蜥蜴的罕见行为.

新孵化的科莫多巨蜥即将 16 英寸 (40 公分) 长度约重 3.5 盎司 (100 克). 它们的皮肤图案有斑点或带状,并显示多种颜色, 包括绿色, 黄色, 灰色, 和棕色. 年轻的科莫多巨蜥一旦孵化就不会给予父母照顾, 他们迅速爬上最近的树,以免被成年人吃掉. 年轻人在树上度过了他们生命中的第一年, 它们以昆虫为食的地方. 一旦他们达到大约 4 脚 (1.2 米) 长, 它们足够大,可以抵御掠食者和其他成年科莫多巨蜥. 然后他们爬回地面, 他们继续成熟的地方. 科莫多巨蜥的寿命结束了 30 年份.

保护状况

科莫多龙被世界自然保护联盟列为“易危”. 科莫多龙受印度尼西亚法律保护, 和一个国家公园, 科莫多国家公园, 成立是为了帮助保护工作. 在野外,由于人类活动,它们的活动范围缩小了. 科莫多龙生存的最大风险是人类的侵占, 破坏环境和偷猎猎物,如巽他鹿. 大约有 4,000 - 5,000 生活在野外的科莫多巨蜥. 虽然攻击非常罕见, 众所周知,科莫多巨蜥会杀死人类.

印度尼西亚科莫多巨蜥数量因狩猎而锐减, 主要用于它们的皮肤,但也用于动物园收藏和运动. 主要猎物动物——鹿的衰落, 被过度捕杀——以及人类发展造成的栖息地丧失是爬行动物数量下降的其他原因. 科莫多巨蜥有时也会被当地村民毒死,他们害怕这些巨大的爬行动物, 他们称之为 现在 (“陆地鳄鱼”), 可能会吃掉他们的孩子或牲畜. 它们下降的另一个原因包括越来越多的游客专门前往这些岛屿观看这些巨大的活龙——这是印度尼西亚政府监管的一项活动。. 生物学家估计,21 世纪初科莫多巨蜥的最大数量约为 5,700 个人. 该 国际自然保护联盟 (世界自然保护联盟) 将科莫多龙列为易受攻击的.

信用:

HTTPS://kids.britannica.com/students/article/Komodo-dragon/328523

科莫多巨蜥

0
莲Iyodo 3 年份 0 答案 8638 意见 0

离开一个答案

非常安全 & 以学生为中心 学习平台 2021

What Are The Main Komodo Dragon Facts You Need To Know?

Question

The largest living lizard in the world is the Komodo dragon. Hunted almost to extinction after Western scientists discovered the reptile on Komodo Island, Indonesia, in 1912, this species is currently protected under Indonesian law.This article gives insights about some important Komodo Dragon facts

The Komodo dragon is a monitor lizard of the family Varanidae and is therefore sometimes referred to as the Komodo monitor. The scientific name of the Komodo dragon is Varanus komodoensis.

Here Are Some Important Komodo Dragon Facts

The Komodo dragon (Varanus komodoensis) is a lizard species that is found on the islands (particularly the Komodo Island) in central Indonesia.

The komodo dragon is a member of the monitor lizard family and is the largest living species of lizard. Because of their size and because there are no other carnivorous animals, these apex predators dominate the ecosystem in which they live.

komodo dragon

Description

Komodo Dragons grow to an average length of 2 – 3 metres (6.5 – 10 feet) and weigh around 70 kilograms (154 pounds). Captive komodo dragons may often weigh more, as much as 166 kilograms (365 pounds).

Komodo dragons are the heaviest lizards on Earth. They have long, flat heads with rounded snouts, scaly skin, bowed legs and huge, muscular tails.

typical komodo dragons

They have about 60 frequently replaced serrated teeth that can measure up to 2.5 centimetres (1 inch) in length.

Their saliva is frequently tinged with blood, because their teeth are almost completely covered by gingival tissue that is naturally lacerated during feeding.

They also has a long, yellow, deeply-forked tongues.

Their tongue is used to detect taste and smell as in many other reptiles and they can detect carrion from 4 – 9.5 kilometres (2.5 – 6 miles) away.

Komodo Dragons have visible ears although they do not have acute sense of hearing. They are able to see as far as 300 metres (985 feet), however, they have poor night vision. The Komodo Dragon is also able to see in colour.

The komodo dragons nostrils are not very good for smelling and it only has a few taste buds at the back of its throat. Their scales, some of which are reinforced with bone, have sensory plaques connected to nerves that facilitate their sense of touch. The scales around the ears, lips, chin and soles of the feet may have three or more sensory plaques.

The imposing giant Komodo dragons reach a length of up to 10 feet (3 meters) and weigh approximately 300 pounds (135 kilograms). Females are generally smaller than males.

Komodo dragons have robust bodies and thick, muscular legs with feet that end in sharp claws. The head is flat, and the long snout is rounded. The large flexible jaw and muscled throat can expand to accommodate the large chunks of flesh that these animals gulp down.

The powerful jaws are equipped with about 60 razor-sharp, serrated teeth that are replaced quite often.

Komodo dragons are believed to have possibly influenced some ancient myths of fire-breathing dragons because of their yellow forked tongues and foul breath, which is caused by bacteria-infested saliva.

The scales covering the animals’ bodies are usually a dull, dark gray in color and are separated by a somewhat brighter-colored skin in between. The long tails are equal to the length of their bodies. The tails are powerful enough to knock a large mammal, such as a water buffalo, off of its feet with one swipe.

Habitat

The Komodo dragon prefers hot and dry places and typically lives in dry open grassland, savanna, scrubland and tropical forests at low elevations. Komodo dragons dig holes that can measure from 1 – 3 metres (3 – 10 feet) wide using their powerful forelimbs and claws.

Komodo dragons have a very small distribution and only inhabit specific islands in Indonesia. They are found on some of the Lesser Sunda Islands, including Komodo, Rinca, Gili Dasami, Gili Montang, and Flores. Komodo dragons roam throughout all areas of the islands but prefer the grassy savannas. They inhabit the forested regions and may patrol along their perimeter. The climate is warm and dry with very little water on the islands, except during a brief monsoon season each year.

Behavior

Komodo dragons are quadrupeds, meaning that they stand and walk on all four legs. Although these animals are quite large and heavy, they are remarkably agile climbers and can run with a surprising amount of speed. They are also capable swimmers and sometimes swim long distances between islands. Komodo dragons are solitary by nature.

behavior of komodo dragons

Komodo dragons are meat-eating predators. They commonly hunt live prey, which they stalk by flicking out their long, forked tongues that are adapted to detect scents in the air. Once the Komodo dragons have detected their victims, they pounce upon them in a surprise attack from behind the tall grasses of the savannas, driving their sharp teeth into the flesh of their prey. Even if the Komodo dragons fail to make a kill immediately, their venomous bite delivers toxins that stop the blood from clotting. It is thought that their victims go into shock from rapid blood loss. Some scientists note that the physical trauma of the bite and the introduction of bacteria from the Komodo dragon’s mouth to the wound also play roles in slowing and killing prey. Komodo dragons may follow their victims for days, waiting for them to collapse. Once this happens they descend upon the carcass and tear it apart, consuming everything—including bones.Prey includes large mammals such as deer, water buffalo, wild pigs, dogs, and goats. Smaller prey include rats, birds, other types of reptiles, and even other Komodo dragons. They may also scavenge dead animals. With their powerful sense of smell, Komodo dragons can detect carcasses from more than 2 miles (3.2 kilometers) away. These predators have also been known to occasionally attack and eat human beings.

Komodo Dragons are mostly active during the day but have shown some nocturnal behaviour. They are solitary animals that only come together to breed and eat. They are quite fast creatures and can move rapidly in brief sprints up to 20 kilometres per hour (12.4 miles per hour). Young komodo dragons can climb trees easily with the use of their strong claws.

Because of their large size, Komodo Dragons are able to conserve body heat by sleeping in their burrows reducing their need to bask in the mornings. They typically hunt in the afternoons and stay in shaded areas during the hottest parts of the day.

Although not strictly venomous, the bite of a Komodo Dragon is not just dangerous for the physical damage the Komodo is capable of causing, it is also heavily dosed with dangerous bacteria. If a victim is lucky enough to escape being eaten, because of the bacteria, it is likely to die eventually. A komodo dragon will follow its escapee until this happens (usually within a week), and then consume it.

Feeding

Komodo Dragons are carnivores and mainly feed up on carrion (dead animal carcasses). They also hunt and ambush prey such as invertebrates, mammals and birds. To catch prey that is out of reach, komodo dragons are able to stand on their hind legs and use their tails as support. They have also been known to use their tails to knock down large deer and pigs.

Komodo dragons eat by tearing large chunks of flesh and swallowing them whole while holding the carcass down with their forelegs. Because of their slow metabolism, large dragons can survive on as little as 12 meals a year. Because the Komodo dragon does not have a diaphragm, it cannot suck water when drinking, nor can it lap water with its tongue. Instead, it drinks by taking a mouthful of water, lifting its head, and letting the water run down its throat. A komodo dragon can eat a whopping 80 percent of its body weight in a single feeding.

Reproduction/Life Cycle

The Komodo Dragon breeding season occurs between May and August. Around 20 eggs are laid in September which are deposited in abandoned megapode nests (Megapode – stocky, medium-large chicken-like birds with small heads and large feet). Eggs are incubated for 7 – 8 months, hatching in April the following year when insects are abundant. The young dwell in trees for safety as they are very vulnerable to predators and cannibalistic adult dragons.

Komodo Dragons mature in about 3 – 5 years. Komodo Dragons are capable of parthenogenesis (par-the-no-gen-e-sis), a form of reproduction in which an unfertilised egg develops into a new individual, occurring commonly among insects and certain other arthropods. Young Komodos will eat insects, eggs, geckos and small mammals. Komodo dragons may be monogamous and form pair bonds, a rare behaviour for lizards.

Newly hatched Komodo dragons are about 16 inches (40 centimeters) in length and weigh approximately 3.5 ounces (100 grams). Their skin pattern is either speckled or banded and displays a variety of colors, including green, yellow, gray, and brown. No parental care is given to young Komodo dragons once they have hatched, and they quickly scramble up the nearest tree to avoid being eaten by the adults. The young spend their first year of life living in trees, where they feed upon insects. Once they have reached about 4 feet (1.2 meters) in length, they are large enough to defend themselves against predators and other adult Komodo dragons. They then climb back down to the ground, where they continue to mature.  The life span of the komodo dragon is over 30 years.

Conservation Status

The Komodo Dragon is classed as ‘Vulnerable’ by the IUCN. Komodo Dragons are protected under Indonesian law, and a national park, Komodo National Park, was founded to aid protection efforts. In the wild their range has contracted due to human activities. The largest risk to the survival of the Komodo Dragon is encroachment by humans, destruction of environment and poaching of prey such as the Sunda deer. There are approximately 4,000 – 5,000 living Komodo dragons in the wild. Although attacks are very rare, Komodo dragons have been known to kill humans.

The numbers of Komodo dragons in Indonesia have plummeted because of hunting, mainly for their skins but also for zoo collections and for sport. The decline of a main prey animal—deer, which have been overhunted—as well as habitat loss for human development are other reasons for the reptile’s decline. Komodo dragons are also sometimes poisoned by local villagers who fear that these huge reptiles, which they call ora (“land crocodile”), may eat their children or livestock. Another cause of their decline includes disturbance by the growing amount of tourists who visit the islands specifically to see these giant living dragons—an activity that the government of Indonesia regulates. Biologists estimate that the maximum population of Komodo dragons at the beginning of the 21st century was approximately 5,700 individuals. The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) lists the Komodo dragon as vulnerable.

Credit:

https://kids.britannica.com/students/article/Komodo-dragon/328523

Komodo Dragon

0
Ephraim Iyodo 5 months 0 Answers 467 views 0

Leave an answer