现在注册

登录

忘记密码

忘记密码? 请输入您的电子邮件地址. 您将收到一个链接,将创建通过电子邮件新密码.

添加后

你必须登录后添加 .

添加问题

您必须登录才能提问.

登录

现在注册

欢迎Scholarsark.com! 您的注册将授予您访问使用该平台的更多功能. 你可以问问题, 做出贡献或提供答案, 查看其他用户以及更多的个人资料. 现在注册!

补糖减缓肿瘤的生长,并能改善癌症治疗

甘露糖, 营养补充, 既可以缓慢肿瘤生长和提高与多种类型的癌症化疗的小鼠的影响. 这项实验室研究是了解甘露糖如何用于帮助治疗 .

癌症

信用: CC0公共领域

该研究的结果, 这是由英国癌症研究和全球癌症研究资助, 发表在 性质, 今天 (星期三).

肿瘤使用比正常更多的葡萄糖, 健康组织. 然而, 这是很难通过饮食独自来控制你的身体的葡萄糖量. 在这个研究中, 研究人员发现,甘露糖可以干扰葡萄糖减少癌细胞多少可以使用的糖.

凯文·莱恩教授, 从英国癌症研究学会比特森主要作者, 说过: “肿瘤需要大量的葡萄糖的成长, 因此限制他们可以使用应该减缓癌症进展的量. 问题是,正常组织需要葡萄糖,以及, 所以我们不能完全从体内清除. 在我们的研究中, 我们发现了一定剂量的甘露糖,足以阻止 减缓小鼠肿瘤的生长, 但没有这么多,正常组织受影响. 这是早期研究, 但它希望找到这个完美平衡意味着,, 在将来, 甘露糖可以给予癌症患者增强化疗而不破坏他们的整体健康。”

研究人员首先研究了如何小鼠胰腺, 当甘露糖被添加到他们的饮用水和作为口服治疗给予肺或皮肤癌回应. 他们发现,添加了补充显著减缓肿瘤的生长并没有造成任何明显的副作用.

为了测试甘露怎么还可能影响癌症治疗, 小鼠顺铂和多柔比星两种最广泛使用的化疗药物处理. 他们发现,甘露糖增强化疗效果, 减缓肿瘤生长, 减少肿瘤的大小,甚至增加一些小鼠的寿命.

其他几种癌症类型, 包括白血病, 骨肉瘤, 卵巢癌和肠癌, 进行了研究. 研究生长在实验室的癌细胞,然后用甘露糖对待他们,看看他们的成长是否受到影响.

一些细胞反应良好,治疗, 而另一些则没有. 还发现,一个酶的分解甘露糖在细胞中的存在是有效的治疗如何是一个很好的指标.

凯文·莱恩教授补充: “我们的下一步是调查原因 仅适用于某些单元格, 这样我们就可以计算出哪些患者可能会受益于这种方法最. 我们希望人们尽快开始与甘露糖的临床试验,以确定其真正的潜力作为一种新的癌症疗法。”

甘露有时用于短期治疗尿路感染, 但其长期影响还没有被查处. 重要的是在甘露糖可用于治疗之前进行更多的研究 .

马丁Ledwick, 英国癌症研究中心的护士长, 说过: “虽然这些结果是一些癌症治疗的未来非常有前途, 这是非常早期的研究,还没有在人类中进行了测试. 患者不宜自行规定甘露糖作为存在还没有被用于测试尚未负面副作用的真正危险. 它极大地改变你的饮食或服用补充剂的新前向医生咨询是很重要的。”


资源: medicalxpress.com

关于 玛丽

发表评论

Register Now

Login

Lost Password

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link and will create a new password via email.

Add post

You must login to add post .

Login

Register Now

Welcome to Scholarsark.com! Your registration will grant you access to using more features of this platform. You can ask questions, make contributions or provide answers, view profiles of other users and lots more. Register now!

Sugar supplement slows tumor growth and can improve cancer treatment

Mannose sugar, a nutritional supplement, can both slow tumor growth and enhance the effects of chemotherapy in mice with multiple types of cancer. This lab study is a step towards understanding how mannose could be used to help treat .

cancer

Credit: CC0 Public Domain

The results of the study, which was funded by Cancer Research UK and Worldwide Cancer Research, are published in Nature, today (Wednesday).

Tumours use more glucose than normal, healthy tissues. However, it is very hard to control the amount of glucose in your body through diet alone. In this study, the researchers found that mannose can interfere with glucose to reduce how much sugar cancer cells can use.

Professor Kevin Ryan, lead author from the Cancer Research UK Beatson Institute, said: “Tumours need a lot of glucose to grow, so limiting the amount they can use should slow cancer progression. The problem is that normal tissues need glucose as well, so we can’t completely remove it from the body. In our study, we found a dosage of mannose that could block enough  to slow tumour growth in mice, but not so much that normal tissues were affected. This is early research, but it is hoped that finding this perfect balance means that, in the future, mannose could be given to cancer patients to enhance chemotherapy without damaging their overall health.”

The researchers first examined how mice with pancreatic, lung or skin cancer responded when mannose was added to their drinking water and given as an oral treatment. They found that adding the supplement significantly slowed the growth of tumours and did not cause any obvious side effects.

To test how mannose could also affect cancer treatment, mice were treated with cisplatin and doxorubicin—two of the most widely used chemotherapy drugs. They found that mannose enhanced the effects of chemotherapy, slowing tumour growth, reducing the size of tumours and even increasing the lifespan of some mice.

Several other cancer types, including leukaemia, osteosarcoma, ovarian and bowel cancer, were also investigated. Researchers grew cancer cells in the lab and then treated them with mannose to see whether their growth was affected.

Some cells responded well to the treatment, while others did not. It was also found that the presence of an enzyme that breaks down mannose in cells was a good indicator of how effective treatment was.

Professor Kevin Ryan added: “Our next step is investigating why  only works in some cells, so that we can work out which patients might benefit the most from this approach. We hope to start clinical trials with mannose in people as soon as possible to determine its true potential as a new cancer therapy.”

Mannose is sometimes used for short periods to treat urinary tract infections, but its long-term effects have not been investigated. It’s important that more research is conducted before mannose can be used in .

Martin Ledwick, Cancer Research UK’s head nurse, said: “Although these results are very promising for the future of some cancer treatments, this is very early research and has not yet been tested in humans. Patients should not self-prescribe mannose as there is a real risk of negative side effects that haven’t been tested for yet. It’s important to consult with a doctor before drastically changing your diet or taking new supplements.”


Source:  medicalxpress.com

About Marie

Leave a reply

Brilliantly Safe & Student-Centered Learning Platform 2021