现在注册

登录

忘记密码

忘记密码? 请输入您的电子邮件地址. 您将收到一个链接,将创建通过电子邮件新密码.

添加后

你必须登录后添加 .

登录

现在注册

欢迎Scholarsark.com! 您的注册将授予您访问使用该平台的更多功能. 你可以问问题, 做出贡献或提供答案, 查看其他用户以及更多的个人资料. 现在注册!

新的研究: 对于一个良好的开端认知恢复中风后, 动起来, 随时

多于 7 万美国人幸存中风, 根据美国中风协会, 和最多 83 中风幸存者遭受百分之认知障碍. 在流动性带来的变化, 语言表达能力和大脑功能会严重降低生活质量. 皮特研究人员说,虽然医生和患者曾长期认为,机会重新获得大部分认知能力的窗口中风后关闭3个月, 下面什么作为急性期, 他们的研究, 发表在杂志行程, 否则建议.Oberlin in a printed blouse, leaning on a treadmill with her elbow

它每天都在读博士研究生被发表在各大学术期刊如中风不. “我不知道该文件是要在行程被接受. 我认为这是我的出路联赛,” 劳伦说欧柏林, 合照, 谁是这项研究的第一作者. 但她的导师, 心理学柯克埃里克森教授, 建议针对高. “这是一个非常令人惊喜,” 奥伯林说.

运动是其他类型的认知功能减退,如老年痴呆症和帕金森氏病的已知援助, 劳伦说欧柏林, 皮特博士候选人 心理学 和论文的第一作者. 但是,当涉及到中风恢复, 有关于何时开始身体活动或什么样的干预措施可能产生的最大认知涨幅不大共识. 还有移动性和语言的赤字更多的研究比对这些中风幸存者相关的记忆问题和其他认知损失, 她说.

所以, 欧柏林和 柯克埃里克森, 心理学教授皮特谁研究的身体活动和衰老, 分析脑卒中后锻炼现有的同行评议的研究.

Erickson in front of a blue background in a dark blue collar shirt

柯克埃里克森, 心理学教授, 一直处于自皮特 2008.

他们的论文中指出,只有一个前研究, 出版于 2012 澳大利亚合作者, 做了可用数据的一个类似的荟萃分析. 自那时候起, 体力活动的脑卒中患者关系认知功能工作的身体几乎增加了一倍.

奥伯林的综合分析表明,它永远不会太晚回去的谚语马.

“我们发现,受试者谁开始锻炼, 一般, 2.6 年后,他们曾经中风, 仍然经历认知收益,”奥伯林说. 这表明,“认知收益在慢性中风阶段是可能的 [三连月后] 与体力活动“。

该文件还指出,类型和身体活动的持续时间似乎并没有在干预试验多大关系.

在中风后的前三个月, “大脑是处理发生了什么事,并建立新的联系,并试图修复自身,”奥伯林说. 在此期间,大部分神经修复的发生, 她说. 但, 只要患者开始以任何可能的方式行使, 无论怎样他们中风后不久或长, 大脑将可能受益.

最好的结果确实来自心血管和力量训练相结合, 奥伯林说, 作为工作了汗水和建设肌肉在一起似乎为提高注意力和处理速度的最佳利益, 执行功能和工作记忆.

“这有很多现实世界的应用到集成到了康复计划的运动类型,“ 她说.

作为额外的奖励, “这不是一个昂贵的 $1,000 丸,”埃里克森说:. “体力活动正在反正建议对流动性的担忧. 这只是将是一个更有理由走出去。”

埃里克森和奥伯林由想法鼓舞,一些中风和老化的最严重的认知效果不必是永久.

“人们可以修改其老化轨迹,”奥伯林说. “从行为, 它给人们希望。”


资源: www.pittwire.pitt.edu

关于 玛丽

发表评论

非常安全 & 以学生为中心 学习平台 2021

Register Now

Login

Lost Password

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link and will create a new password via email.

Add post

You must login to add post .

Login

Register Now

Welcome to Scholarsark.com! Your registration will grant you access to using more features of this platform. You can ask questions, make contributions or provide answers, view profiles of other users and lots more. Register now!

New Research: For a Head Start on Cognitive Recovery After Stroke, Get Moving, Anytime

More than 7 million Americans have survived a stroke, according to the American Stroke Association, and up to 83 percent of stroke survivors suffer cognitive impairment. Resulting changes in mobility, language skills and brain functioning can severely diminish quality of life. Pitt researchers say that while doctors and patients had long believed that the window of opportunity for regaining most cognitive abilities closes three months after a stroke, following what’s known as the acute phase, their study, published in the journal Stroke, suggests otherwise.Oberlin in a printed blouse, leaning on a treadmill with her elbow

It’s not every day a PhD candidate gets published in a major academic journal like Stroke. “I didn’t know the paper was going to be accepted in Stroke. I thought that that was way out of my league,” said Lauren Oberlin, pictured, who is first author of the study. But her mentor, Professor of Psychology Kirk Erickson, advised aiming high. “It was a really pleasant surprise,” Oberlin said.

Exercise is a known aid for other types of cognitive decline such as dementia and Parkinson’s disease, said Lauren Oberlin, a Pitt PhD candidate in psychology and lead author of the paper. But when it comes to stroke recovery, there’s little consensus about when to start being physically active or what kinds of interventions could yield the biggest cognitive gains. There’s also much more research on mobility and language deficits than there is on stroke survivors’ associated memory problems and other cognitive losses, she said.

So, Oberlin and Kirk Erickson, a Pitt professor of psychology who studies physical activity and aging, analyzed the existing peer-reviewed studies on poststroke exercise.

Erickson in front of a blue background in a dark blue collar shirt

Kirk Erickson, a professor of psychology, has been at Pitt since 2008.

Their paper notes that only one prior study, published in 2012 by Australian collaborators, had done a similar meta-analysis of the available data. Since then, the body of work on physical activity’s relationship to cognitive functioning in stroke patients has nearly doubled.

Oberlin’s comprehensive analysis suggests it’s never too late to get back on the proverbial horse.

“We found that subjects who began exercising, on average, 2.6 years after they had a stroke, still experienced cognitive gains,” Oberlin said. This shows that “cognitive gains are possible in the chronic stroke phase [even after three months] with physical activity.”

The paper also noted that the type and duration of physical activity didn’t seem to matter much in intervention trials.

In the first three months following a stroke, “the brain is dealing with what happened and making new connections and trying to fix itself,” said Oberlin. Much of the neural repair occurs during this time, she said. But, as long as a patient begins exercising in whatever way possible, no matter how soon or long after their stroke, the brain will likely benefit.

The best results did come from a combination of cardiovascular and strength training, Oberlin said, as working up a sweat and building muscle together seem to provide optimal benefits for improving attention and processing speed, executive functioning and working memory.

“This has a lot of real-world application to the type of exercise that’s integrated into rehabilitation programs,” she said.

As added incentive, “it’s not an expensive $1,000 pill,” Erickson said. “Physical activity is being recommended anyway for mobility concerns. This is just going to be one more reason to get out there.”

Erickson and Oberlin are heartened by the idea that some of the worst cognitive effects of stroke and aging don’t have to be permanent.

“People can modify their aging trajectories,” Oberlin said. “Behaviorally, it gives people hope.”


Source: www.pittwire.pitt.edu

About Marie

Leave a reply

Brilliantly Safe & Student-Centered Learning Platform 2021